Guide
Kia EV3 home charging: time, power and cost
Kia UK's EV3 specification lists 58.3 kWh and 81.4 kWh battery versions and an 11 kW AC charging time. It does not label those capacity figures as usable or gross, so treat them as stated pack capacities rather than usable-energy figures. A home 7 kW-class charger can charge overnight for many routines; use your exact version and charging window to check.
In plain English
EV3 battery versions and what the figures mean
The Kia UK specification lists a 58.3 kWh front-wheel-drive EV3, an 81.4 kWh front-wheel-drive version and an 81.4 kWh AWD GT. The registry uses the manufacturer’s stated charging-power and battery records. Kia does not label those battery figures as usable or gross on that page; the calculator examples below use the stated capacity and may overstate a percentage top-up if the usable capacity is lower.
The Kia specification lists AC charging using 230 V/16 A and an 11 kW onboard charger, with 10–100% times of 5 hours 20 minutes for the 58.3 kWh version and 7 hours 15 minutes for the 81.4 kWh versions. Those are Kia’s published figures for that setup. They are not a promise of the time on every home supply, nor proof that the battery figures are usable capacity.
In plain English
Home plug, AC limit and three-phase
The current Kia UK specification page consulted for this guide does not state the EV3 home connector or single-phase AC limit. These remain Not confirmed in the site’s EV3 record. Check the charging-port label and the handbook for your exact car before buying a separate cable or treating a 7.4 kW estimate as a confirmed maximum.
The registry records an 11 kW AC onboard limit for the represented versions. A compatible three-phase supply can make that rate available when the charger and installation also support it. A 22 kW charger cannot make an 11 kW car accept 22 kW. If the car’s single-phase limit is unknown, the table labels its 7.4 kW case as an estimate that assumes the vehicle can use that rate.
For many owners who park overnight, a standard home charger may already fit the available window. Discuss a three-phase change with an installer only if shorter charging time solves a real need. See car and home compatibility and 7 kW versus 22 kW.
In plain English
Calculated EV3 home charging examples
| Version | Battery figure used | 20–80%, 7.4 kW | 20–80%, 11 kW | 20–80%, 22 kW | 20–80%, 2.3 kW example | 0–100%, 7.4 kW |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 58.3 kWh FWD | 58.3 kWh stated capacity; usable not confirmed | About 4 hours 44 minutes | About 3 hours 11 minutes | About 3 hours 11 minutes | About 15 hours 13 minutes | About 7 hours 53 minutes |
| 81.4 kWh FWD | 81.4 kWh stated capacity; usable not confirmed | About 6 hours 36 minutes | About 4 hours 26 minutes | About 4 hours 26 minutes | About 21 hours 14 minutes | About 11 hours |
| 81.4 kWh AWD GT | 81.4 kWh stated capacity; usable not confirmed | About 6 hours 36 minutes | About 4 hours 26 minutes | About 4 hours 26 minutes | About 21 hours 14 minutes | About 11 hours |
These figures use a steady charging rate and round to the nearest minute. Battery state, temperature, charging losses, the car and available household power can change the actual time. Where the single-phase limit is not confirmed, the 7.4 kW example assumes the car can use that power; check your handbook.
The 2.3 kW column is an illustrative portable-charging rate, not approval of a socket or a recommended current setting. Use only equipment your vehicle manufacturer permits and have the socket and circuit assessed. A 0–100% example compares times; it is not advice to run the battery empty or charge fully every day.
Kia’s own 11 kW AC full-charge figures are a useful cross-check for the larger battery versions. The calculations above use a steady rate and a stated battery capacity, which Kia does not identify as usable energy. That makes them planning examples, not a replacement for Kia’s published timing or a measured prediction.
A 2.3 kW portable-charge example takes substantially longer. Do not infer that an ordinary 13 A socket is suitable: only use manufacturer-approved charging equipment after the socket and circuit have been assessed. Read three-pin charging advice.
In plain English
Estimate the EV3 charging cost
Choose your EV3 version and charge percentages in the home charging-cost calculator. Because the pack-capacity basis is not stated as usable, use the result as an estimate. For a closer bill estimate, enter the electricity used for charging from a reliable meter or charger reading, and the rate that applied at that time.
Do not use a sample tariff as your current price. An overnight tariff applies only during its qualifying window and may have other conditions. Our home charging cost guide explains battery energy versus meter energy and other bill items.
Your next step
Which charger features might matter?
Start with a cable that reaches your normal parking position, a suitable home assessment and controls you will use. Scheduling may help you charge within a cheaper tariff window. Solar-following features depend on compatible monitoring and your household setup; a solar label alone does not confirm compatibility.
Browse confirmed home-charger specifications, use the time calculator, and prepare for an installer survey. If you are considering a charger comparison, read Ohme Home Pro versus zappi; the conclusion depends on the features your household needs.
Further reading
Sources
- Last reviewed
- Kia EV3 specification — Kia Motors UK. Vehicle record source, checked 2026-10-03. Battery estimates remain estimates; check the exact version.
- Kia EV3 UK specification — Kia UK. Battery version, stated AC timings and powertrain facts; checked 6 October 2026. Kia's listed battery capacity is not labelled usable or gross.
- Charging at home — Kia UK. Manufacturer explanation of home charging and variable charging times.